Preliminary List of Candidates for 2012-2013 PTA Board

Nominations are still open for the 2012-2013 PTA Board. Read more for details of the process and positions, as well as a list of those who have already stepped forward. Please join us in this important work of supporting the school.

Following up on the Call for Nominations in the March issue of Hilites, we encourage all parents to consider serving as a member of our PTA Board for the 2012-2013 school year. There are 17 elected voting positions. According to PTA By-Laws, "the Nominating Committee shall prepare a preliminary list of candidates which shall be published in an April issue of Hilites." Some of our existing Board members will stand for re-election and other parents have volunteered to run for election, as well. There are a few open positions remaining, but please note: Anyone interested in running for ANY position is encouraged to contact one of our Nominating Committee members (Jennifer Freeman at or Felicia Lipson at for more information. Monday, April 30 is the deadline for nominations. Elections will take place at the PTA Meeting on May 30, 2012. 

All board positions and brief job descriptions are listed here

Executive Committee  
Co-President Judy Weinstein
Co-President Sanghee Kim
1st VP Communications Jeannie Park
2nd VP Fundraising/Finance Andrew Kaufman
3rd VP External Affairs Ruth Firester
Treasurer Jill Shapiro
Other Voting Board Positions  
Recording Secretary Laura Krug
Corresponding Secretary Martha Colton
Programming Chair Ayelet Sela
Information Technology Manager Yaniv Hakohen
Hunter Life Parent Chair Margaret Chin
Exec Rep Grades 7-8 Anju Malhotra (8)
Exec Rep Grades 9-10 OPEN
Exec Rep Grades 11-12 Devi Ramchandran (11)
Events Coordinator Ellie Chung Glus
Volunteer Coordinator DeAnnie Reeder
Legal Counsel Carol Rosenthal
Non-Voting Board Assistants (appointed by Co-Presidents)  
Asst. Treasurer Paul Radvany
Asst. Tech Manager for Contact Information OPEN
Asst. Tech Manager for Website OPEN
 Asst. Hunter Life Parent Chair Rachel Christmas Derrick
Asst. Exec Rep 7-8 Anna Walters (7)
Asst. Exec Rep 9-10 Wendy Cheung (10)
Asst. Exec Rep 11-12 Robin Aronow (12)